Buy online at
You're about to leave

Official Online Shop

You can now buy our sale items on Freewheel

Benefits of shopping with Freewheel:

  • Reserve & Collect at your nearest store
  • Support your local store
  • Secure Checkout

Madison Genesis Road


Madison Genesis are excited to announce their team roster for 2018, with five new signings to race under team manager Colin Sturgess.

George Atkins, Mike Cuming, Isaac Mundy, Neil van der Ploeg and George Pym all join the squad.

Completing the 12-rider line-up for 2018 are Taylor Gunman, Rich Handley, Matt Holmes, Tobyn Horton, Johnny McEvoy, Erick Rowsell and Connor Swift.

Sturgess gave his assessment of the squad ahead of the season:

“The Madison Genesis 2018 team holds much promise with some exciting prospects. What I particularly like is that we have depth of experience and riders with race-craft and nous."

“Sure, there are a couple of the guys that are a bit green still, but they are in an ideal environment in which to learn their metier."

“We start with no one designated ‘leader’, but a group of ‘leaders’ throwing open many options. We have climbers, we have sprinters, we have rouleurs, we have guys that can ride a fast TT, can win criteriums. Every single rider on this team can and will win bike races, and as I’ve said previously I like to see guys win with professionalism and panache."

“Over the next couple of months the interplay between riders will become more and more cohesive and I’m looking forward to seeing the guys ride as a well drilled and successful team adding to our already impressive palmares.”

New Signings

The five new signings for 2018 are a varied and talented selection with names both old and new offering to keep Madison Genesis at the forefront of the British racing scene.

George Atkins was British junior road race champion in 2009 and went on to take national titles on the track and a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games.

With national-level podium performances on the road in previous years, Atkins will be looking to return to the forefront of domestic racing.

Another national champion, Mike Cuming took the British under-23 title back in 2012, before winning the Tour de Korea two years later.

Mike returns to the top level of UK road racing after spending 2016 in Australia, and 2017 in England with Neon Velo.

A fourth category licence holder at the start of 2016, Mundy gained first category status in 2017 and has impressed with multiple wins in National B races.

Neil van der Ploeg is another man with an off-road racing history, transitioning to the top level of road competition and earning podium placings in the Tour of China, Tour de Korea and New Zealand Cycle Classic.

The sprinter and prologue specialist from Australia will be a useful weapon in the Tour Series and summer criteriums.

George Pym joins having achieved top-10 results in several National A races in 2017. The 23-year-old from Exeter has shown his potential with three consecutive wins at the south west regional championships and looks to develop further.

Madison Genesis 2018 team roster

George Atkins

Mike Cuming

Taylor Gunman

Rich Handley

Matt Holmes

Tobyn Horton

Johnny McEvoy

Isaac Mundy

Neil van der Ploeg

George Pym

Erick Rowsell

Connor Swift

Follow Madison Genesis